Tags

, , , , ,

If this was the last time you will be dining at NYC for some time, where will you visit?

My choice was Jean-Georges, the famed three Michelin Star Restaurant. Fortunately, we were able to get a reservation for 2:30pm for late lunch. Conveniently located in the Columbus Circle, we shopped around until our reservation time. With lush, off-white leather seating and large windows off of Central Park, it embodies the spirit of Manhattan.
IMAG2039

We ordered the prix-fix course, but with the addition of many “on-the-house” small dishes, we felt like we were having a six course meal.IMAG2024   

The foie gras brulee is not to be missed. The velvety interior melts in your mouth coupled with the crunchy exterior, it’s oh so heavenly. Add some riesling jelly on the side and it makes the dish complete.IMAG2030

The sea urchin appetizer was soso, but I appreciate their attempt at Asian fusion.IMAG2029

The Crispy Confit of Suckling Pig, Rutabaga “Pudding” and Smoked Marmalade was my other favorite. Albeit difficult and messy to eat, the crunchy skin with the moist and tender meat leaves you lusting for more. It was already quite a big portion, but I’m sure I could have consumed another slice.IMAG2031

We paid extra for the caramelized wagyu and it was meh… I preferred the steak from Alexander Steakhouse in Silicon Valley.IMAG2033

The desserts were a different story. With a major sweet tooth, I had problem deciding between the options. I ended up with caramel swayed mostly by my preference for salted caramel ice cream because of my addiction after visiting Bi-Rite Creamery in SF. If you order prix-fix, do not skip the dessert!IMAG2037

I was already content with my selections of food that afternoon, just to be surprised by even more sweets. And yes, the white spongy pillow looking thing are their famous house made marshmellow. I was surprised by the black pepper, but it could’ve been more special. Among the sweets, I preferred the crunchy pieces. And don’t be fooled by the macarons, they look good, but because of their tiny size, they are dried out and unlike the luxurious chewy macaron you can get down the street at La Duree.IMAG2038

It’s quite an experience. Visit it at least once and you won’t be sorry.

I’ll introduce more delicious places in NYC later, but if I had to choose a place as my last meal, Jean-Georges will be on my list.

Jean-Georges
1 Central Park W
New York, NY 10023
(212) 299-3900
