Tags

, , , , , ,

FIRST ENCOUNTER

The first time I learned about the brand Zara was in 2007 as a college freshman. I was walking around in Union Square in San Francisco when I stumbled into the store that I would later spend too much money in.

Everyone knows Zara as a quality fast-fashion brand enough to know that if you like something and don’t buy it right now, it might not be there in a week. Which was what I did. I do not regularly splurge on dispensable items and felt guilty swiping for the $99 wool coat, but thinking about it, with a 80% wool shell and heavy fabric, I would not be able to get such a good deal now even in Zara.

23(Taken Christmas of 2012 with my double breasted Zara wool coat @ Opus One Winery)

In the past 6 years, with heavy usage, it held up pretty well for the first 5 years. Nothing is breaking apart, but I do feel the shell is thinning. I would keep it anyways just for sentimental reason – my first splurge.

Since then, I have purchased many items from Zara especially blazers, dresses, and some coats. Most of the time during the two sales season in late December and late June, but some of the it-items, I did buy at regular price. The only comfort comes from knowing the pieces you purchased are taken off the site within a week or no longer there in store the next time you visit because that tells you they will never go on sale (maybe I’m just trying to justify my splurge here).

SPECIAL PRICES in 2013

In recent seasons, there is a new “special prices” category under women. It used to be a phantom category that comes and go, but it looks like it is here to stay starting this season.

If you haven’t noticed this section and you love a good deal, you should check it out. It sounds cheesy to say this, but the prices are truly special. They are reduced by 40-60% from the regular price during regular season and it is updated sporadically. With that said, you got to be fast to snatch the real steals.PhotoGrid_1384971853019

One thing to note though, these special prices items are mostly made in China that allotted more time from production to the sales floor whereas items from Spain, Portugal, and Morocco are for more on-demand fashion and typically with higher quality. Regardless, I am very happy with my purchases.

One other thing to note, these run out fast, if not faster than the sales season. You never know when Zara renews the Special Prices page, but when it does, those items run out within the day if not the morning. I’ve been able to get the jacket and pants in my size purchasing at 7am. The coat I was only able to get it in my sister’s size because I saw it around early afternoon. With that said, check out the special prices section, you never know what you would find.

Even though Zara’s quality has been slowly going downhill while price continued to climb, but you can still manage to get some good steals here or there.

Image

